Books and Music go hand and hand

Sometimes while I am reading I like to have music playing in the background and other times I prefer the peacefulness that surrounds me and just have the birds to listen to. I must confess that when I came up with my Desert Island Discs selection of music awhile back it was a tough call choosing which pieces I would take to a deserted island and only in this last few weeks I have come across the most beautiful music I have heard in a long time. It turns out that my piece that I found is one that is actually on the list of many and I can see why. It is a soft sound of a beautiful violin which has been etched in my mind for a short time. Why I had not come across it until now is anyone’s guess but it left me itching for more and I hope to look out for a copy of this wonderful artist’s work. Surprisingly enough today marks the composer’s birthday so I thought I would write about it and the beautiful piece that seems to have transfixed itself into my head. I have also decided to add a list of my favourite books (in no particular order) and this beautiful piece written by Ralph Vaughan Williams. I have noticed one or two of his pieces on some of my classical CD’s but up until recently I had never heard The Lark Ascending. I hope that you appreciate it as much as I have.

Here is my list by the way (in no particular order)

  1. Oh the Places you will Go – Dr Seuss
  2. The Color Purple – Alice Walker
  3. A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Hosseini
  4. Anything written by Deborah Challinor  (I particularly like the Tamar trilogy)
  5. Time Life Books – Foods of the World
  6. Anything written by Anthony Bourdain /Rick Stein / Gary Rhodes (Chefs)
  7. Things I overheard while talking to myself – Alan Alda
  8. Anything written by Lena Kennedy
  9. London: The Biography – Peter Akcroyd
  10. Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
  11. The World of Suzie Wong – Richard Mason
  12. First Catch your Weka – David Veart
  13. The New Zealand Woman – Bee Dawson
  14. Inside Stories – Frances Walsh
  15. Anything written by Michael King
  16. To the Is Land, An Angel at my Table, The Envoy at Mirror City – Janet Frame

and much much more!!!!!

So dear friends, what are yours and why? I will review some of these favourites soon.

Leave a Reply

