Bridget meet Molly…

xyz

The Book 

Weekend in Paris

Author (s)

Robyn Sisman

Year

2003

What it says on the back cover

IT ONLY TAKES A WEEKEND TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE.

One Friday afternoon Molly Clearwater walks out of her job, smarting from her boss’s taunt that she is ‘just a stupid secretary’. Twenty-one, a country girl who has lived her life mainly through the pages of books, she feels nothing exciting has ever happened to her, or ever will.

On impulse she boards the Eurostar to Paris, emerging into a bewitching world of leafy boulevards, luscious foods, crazy traffic and smouldering Frenchmen. Within hours she’s racing along beside the Seine on the back of a scooter, infiltrating a conference in a Cleopatra wig, caught up in a roller-blade chase, and sharing with a complete stranger her deepest darkest secret.

The weekend turns into a dizzying carousel-ride of passion, excitement and self discovery. By Sunday night Molly is a new person.

What made me pick up this book?

With an introduction on the back cover like the above described, I was lured into reading more about this young woman and what lay out for her as she ventured around France and in Paris for a weekend. I smiled at the cuteness of the picture on the front cover, smiling at it and knowing that this was what many would call a ‘chick lit’ short for chick literature and one that I could see myself reading over this winter. I did not expect however to finish it within the week.

Is this book worth buying?

This book has many interesting things about it. When reading other reviews about it, I have noticed that others have either given it a five or a one star. I guess that after a while of reading chick lit books, some may say that this book is just another story and one that they could predict what may happen next as Molly moves from one part of Paris to another. Maybe so but I liked it. I am not British and I know that as a fan of Bridget Jones, I have read very few chick lit books with the exception of Helen Fielding’s Brilliant Jones’ novels. It’s not that they do not interest me but I have often found fictional stories which have a history element must grab me first and maybe this is what made me think about buying this book as it’s author has obviously done her homework or has travelled or been to Paris before. The book is fun in the sense that it had me giggling as I read it, it made me think of how lucky the British are to have Europe on their doorsteps just waiting to be discovered just like Molly did and how she walked away from her comfort zone for the weekend.

This book had adventure from the time Molly meets Alicia, a rather outward Australian who invites Molly to a party after they meet in Molly’s hotel room and how Fabrice capture’s Molly’s heart by taking her on a whirlwind trip around Paris, his  Paris on the back of his scooter. I love the way Sisman sends Molly off into dream world so we can capture her inner most thoughts, what is going through her head and way she conducts herself as if she was a true Parisian. I like the sophisticated and suave Fabrice and how he romances Molly and her mind. This book is a true gift of Sisman’s itching for me to tell her to write a sequel or a movie at that. Sure we have our beloved Bridget but this is Molly and yes she is smart, she knows more French artists than most and indeed she does find herself amongst a head in the clouds but her feet still firmly on the ground. Molly not only learns about herself but she teaches a few others about themselves too.  It’s a delightful read and it left me wondering what next will fill me as much as this did on a rather heavy rainy week. I encourage you to forget it is a chick lit and read it, it will leave you smiling, well it did for me anyway. A smile curls up my face now…

“But I adore this story,’ he said, taking her hand  between both of his. “That is how life should be. Impulsive, Unplanned. One must follow one’s spirit , not submit oneself to the petty exigencies of commerce.’  (p 231, A Weekend in Paris, Robyn Sisman).
 
Leave a Reply

