Recovery

Photo0209The Book

Psychopath Free: Recovering from the Emotionally Abusive Relationships with Narcissists, Sociopaths, and other Toxic People.

Author(s)  Peace

Year

2013

What it says on the back cover
The psychopath carefully selects the most indifferent and heartbreaking way imaginable to abandon you. He wants you to self-destruct, cleaning up any loose ends as he begins the grooming process with his latest victim. He destroys you as a way to reassure himself that his new target is better. But most importantly, he destroys you because he hates you. He despises your empathy and love- qualities he must pretend to feel every single day. To destroy you is to temporarily silence the nagging reminder of the emptiness that consumes his soul ” (p 58).

Unbeknownst to both of you, this is the beginning of a great adventure…

Psychopath free is a recovery handbook, guiding survivors through the nightmare of psychopathic relationships from the beginning to end. The goal is to me the process a bit more holistic – to provide all the tools you’ll need to find validation, self respect, peace and love. This book operates under the assumption that you are not defined by your pain, but instead by the subsequent choices you make along the way. Psychopath Free will help you out of the darkness so that you can begin making better choices that will forever alter the course of your life.

So say farewell to love triangles, cryptic letters, self doubt, and manufactured anxiety. You will never again feel yourself desperately awaiting a text again from the man you love. You will never again censor your spirit for fear of loosing the perfect relationship. You will never again be told to stop over analaysing that which needs analysis. You are no longer a pawn in the mind games of the psychopath.

You are free.

About the book

The book is a self help guide for any person that has been affected by a toxic relationship that has gone sour. I belong to the site with the same name and read on there that there was a book that had been published by its administrator and founder.

Is this book worth buying?

This book is definitely worth getting. My copy has been written with the view that the toxic person in your life is male so if you are male and have had an experience such as this. I recommend you request for a copy that is written about the female psychopath, same book just the genders have been swapped. This book has been written in a way that speaks clearly to me, to recognise why I got myself into the situation and why the man I loved acted in the way he did. It gives a description of symptoms of what one goes through when the relationship ends and how to deal with those feelings, those dreaded thoughts that go through our heads at the time. It takes a long time to get over something like this and for me,

I have found that this book is a valuable source of comfort. It is sad when you tell your friends and family when your relationship ends, but it is even more difficult when you explain what truly went on. Over a period of time I started to doubt a relationship that I was in. I loved the man that I was with but there was something that I could not quite lay my finger on and I knew that in many ways he was very different to alot of others that I had met or had dated in the past. At first he was very chatty and seem to enjoy what I had to say. We shared mutual interests and it appeared we had the same outlook on life. Being the down to earth person that I am, I found this refreshing and I enjoyed being in his presence.

But as the years grew on I noticed that there were subtle changes in him that cropped up and that did not add up. Initially I just ignored them, I forgot about them as they appeared but overtime they gnawed at me, made me question things and him.  In time I knew that he was not the man that he was in the early stages of our relationship. He did not seem keen to introduce me to his family and his so called friends were somewhat surprised he even had a girlfriend. He had married before and had a daughter and even that was kept hush hushed for awhile until I met her a few years later. He was secretive too, and when he told me that I didn’t seem to open up, I felt somewhat awkward at first as I thought he was the secretive one.

Like him, I had been hurt before and it took me sometime before I could relax. But when I did, it was if he ran a mile. The emails that I wrote were left unanswered and if I confronted him about things, he would retreat and occasionally I would feel like the bad guy in the union. Things were really changing between us and I doubted myself, put myself down all at his expense trying to get him to love me more and more. When you get to this stage, you know its just not worth it. But I know, I understand. Your heart is involved right? That is how it was for me and trust me I know how it feels. Silence, would you believe is also a sign of abuse.

Today as I write this I know my journey has been hard and although I am getting through all of this, I am exposing a part of me that is vulnerable. I know I am still grieving. It takes time and I know that now is a good time to look after me and what really matters to me in the present. This book was written by a survivor and I know that in time, I will come through it all smiling too. In the words of Gloria Gaynor- I will survive!

At this stage this book can only be ordered by Amazon.com

Five stars

“The recovery process is the beginning of your new life. You’ll look  back at old dynamics, wondering how you tolerated such toxicity… you might even feel embarrassed about your past behavior. This “regret” is your self respect kicking in. reminding you that you’re different now” (Peace, 2013). 
Leave a Reply

